I sass, you sass, we all sass for podcasts

Posted: August 21, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags:

If you are like me and have a long commute in and out of work each day, you need something to distract from the awful other drivers and the endless gridlock. I’ve found podcasts to be a saving grace. Easier to stop-and-start than an audiobook, and with a conversational tone that makes time pass like you’re in a parlor listening to friends talk, I keep a range of podcasts updated on my iPod and have not (really) minded the commute since. I’ve also found courses from The Teaching Company to be a great way to pass the time. Since I started listening to them, I’ve genuinely found that it helps reduce traffic stress and road rage. With a podcast or lecture playing, I don’t feel like I’m “losing” time stuck in traffic.

Below I’ve compiled a list of my favorite podcasts to aid anyone needed some good recommendations.

Comedy of the Week

Website

iTunes

From the BBC, this is a variety comedy show featuring British comedians, skits and sketches, and “Just A Minute,” where comedians try to talk for 60 seconds with no hesitation, repetition & deviation.

Freakonomics Radio

Website

iTunes

I just added this one to my rotation, but I’m excited by the titles of the episodes: “Government Employees Gone Wild,” “Do Baby Girls Cause Divorce?,” “Jane Austen, Game Theorist,” etc.

GCN Radio

Website

iTunes

News and commentary for Christians who care about LGBT issues.

Good Job, Brain!

Website

iTunes

Your weekly quiz show and off-beat trivia podcast! Karen, Colin, Dana, and Chris are immensely entertaining, and packed with interesting facts and trivia. This is the podcast that got me really into pub trivia.

History Hour

Website

iTunes

Another one from the BBC: Oral history from people who witnessed it.

The Nerdist Podcast

Website

iTunes

I really cherry-pick the podcasts I listen to here based on the guest. They can be really entertaining, or really dull, in which case I just move on to the next one. Penn Jillette is always worth a listen for being both smart and entirely unpredictable about what he’s going to talk about (Little people and apes at a party? Check. The partnership between Jerry Lewis and Dean Martin? Check. Song poems from decades past? Double check.) Joss Whedon never disappoints. Conan O’Brien has a very professional attitude toward The Business and comedy, as does Tina Fey. I love MST3K, so the panel with the guys from that was a highlight. And with 300+ episodes and counting, there are a ton of podcasts to catch up on.

For a related laugh, check out the Chris Hardwick’s All-Star Celebrity Bowling on YouTube. The one with the cast of Dr. Who is my favorite.

NPR: Wait, Wait… Don’t Tell Me!

Website

iTunes

An  “oddly informative” weekly news quiz program with a panel of funny people. Very fun. Clocking in at about 40 minutes, the length is perfect for my drive either in or out of work.

Restoration Anglican Church

Website

iTunes

My church has started putting their sermons on iTunes, which is nice; before I had to download directly to my computer. This is great for those weeks I just can’t force myself through the doors again. Anything by Pastor David Hanke is gold: He’s got a rare gift.

Smart People Podcast

Website

iTunes

Interviews with experts about all topics. Chris and Jon speak to professionals in all industries to get insights and opinions. They’ve talked with authors like Jonah Berger and David Pink, to communication experts, to entrepreneurs, to yoga instructors, and pretty much everything in between. Always fascinating.

The Smartest Man in the World

Website

iTunes

Comedian Greg Proops’ routines. I can only take him in small doses, but he can be very funny. I found out about his podcast from his appearance on The Nerdist Podcast, where he cracked me up with a line about dodgy comedy club names like Sir LaughsALot (“Just whose flag DO you ride under, sir?”)

Stuff You Should Know

Website

iTunes

Run by HowStuffWorks.com, this podcast teaches on a variety of subjects from the seemingly obvious (“How Maps Work,” “How Earthworms Work”) to the more obscure (“How Molecular Gastronomy Works,” “What’s the 10,000 Year Clock?”). I wish the hosts were more dynamic, however.

So that’s it! And I always like finding new things, so send on any suggestions of what I should be subscribing to.

Leave a Reply

