ALA!

Posted: July 12, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

So, many days past when I thought I would have something posted, I’ve finally eked out time to write up a brief summary of ALA’s massive conference in Chicago.

It was a lot of fun!

Aaaand that’s all folks, thanks for stopping by!

Just kidding, of course – more behind the cut. IMG_0911[1]

 An amazing 26,000 librarians+ were in attendance this year. The conference was held in McCormick Place, which is MASSIVE. I snagged a couple of blurry shots of the exhibit hall on my phone to try to show how packed it was, but I don’t think they do it justice.

I went with the exhibits-only pass, which was more than enough to fill my time and interests. I admit to a bias toward anything kid-related; I loved the furniture vendors. A special shout-out to The Burgeon Group for interactive learning spaces. They had some great products that I would love to have in a children’s room. TCM Furniture had some nice stuff as well.

There a major flaw in the layout of the hall: All the book vendors were waaay too close together for rabid librarians eager to see new products and free giveaways. It felt like a crowded Middle Eastern bazaar. IMG_0913[2]  IMG_0916[1] IMG_0917[1] IMG_0918[1]

I got some great-looking books to read and review, including signed copies of Coda by Emma Trevayne and The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls by Anton DiSclafani.

I only went on Saturday, and that was enough time this year for me. Maybe next year I’ll try to hit the sessions, but I was pretty schooled-out. It was wonderful to be around so many other dedicated professionals, and see all the vendors and different companies that interact with libraries. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

I also got to see the Book of Mormon, due to a grant from my dear mother. I’ll actually write up a separate post with the thoughts that have been rolling around my head since then about the musical, which was the biggest thing to hit Broadway in years.

Comments
  1. […] as I mentioned in a previous post, I got to see the Book of Mormon in Chicago while at ALA. I had been dying to see it since it hit […]

Leave a Reply

